We will be closed Saturday, July 4th in observance of the national holiday.

Pearls - June's Birthstone!

BlogHeader Pearls 01


Pearls are the world’s best known organic gemstone, and one of the oldest prized jewels – cherished centuries before cut stones were created.


There are four types of pearls:


Akoya Pearls:

The classic pearl Grown off the coast of Japan, Akoya Pearls are best known for their perfectly round shape and sharp, reflective luster. Most Akoya Pearls produced today range in size from 4 to 10mm. If you are looking for a classic strand of pearls, it is most likely Akoya Pearls.



Freshwater Pearls:

Known for their white and pastel body colors, Freshwater Pearls typically have a softer luster than Akoya pearls. There shapes range from perfectly round to baroque (an industry term for free-form) shapes. Common sizes for Freshwater Pearls range from 5 to 12mm, with some newer pearls getting as large as 20mm.



Tahitian Pearls:

Grown in French Polynesia, Tahitian Pearls are naturally dark – often referred to as black; however Tahitian Pearls come in a rainbow of colors. Tahitian Pearls come in a variety of shapes like baroque, oval and drops, while round is considered rare. Common sizes for Tahitian Pearls range from 8 to 15mm.



South Sea Pearls:

Grown primarily in Australia, the Philippines, and Indonesia, South Sea Pearls range in color from white to pink to gold. South Sea Pearls also come in a variety of shapes, and range in size from 8 to 18mm.



Pearls tend to be quite delicate, and proper care is essential. When wearing them they should always be the last thing you put on, and the first thing you take off. We recommend wiping down your pearls with a damp, soft cloth after each use and keep them separated from all your other jewelry.


“Pearls are always appropriate” – Jackie Kennedy



Continental Diamond